Google Translate

Board of Directors

SANDAG Board of Directors

The Board of Directors serves as the governing body of SANDAG and is made up of elected mayors, councilmembers, and county supervisors that are appointed from each of the region’s 19 local governments. The Board of Directors serves as the forum for bringing together our local governments and public agencies to plan, program, and implement cooperative comprehensive planning across the San Diego region.  

To help SANDAG address key public policy and funding responsibilities, the Board has delegated certain responsibilities to six Policy Advisory Committees that are focused on distinct issue areas. All items delegated to the Policy Advisory Committees are subject to Board ratification.

The Board of Directors meetings are generally at 9 a.m. every second and fourth Friday of the month. Meetings provide the public forum for policy decision-making on significant regional issues such as growth, transportation, environmental management, housing, open space, air quality, energy, fiscal management, economic development, and criminal justice. 

Staff contact: Jack Christensen, 619.595.1442,

Membership - As of December 5, 2022

Hon. Catherine Blakespear

First Vice Chair
Hon. Todd Gloria

Second Vice Chair
Hon. Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

City of Carlsbad
Hon. Matt Hall, Mayor
(A) Hon. Priya Bhat-Patel, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Keith Blackburn, Mayor Pro Tem

City of Chula Vista
Hon. Mary Salas, Mayor
(A) Hon. Steve Padilla, Councilmember
(A) Hon. John McCann, Councilmember

City of Coronado
Hon. Richard Bailey, Mayor
(A) Hon. Bill Sandke, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Mike Donovan, Councilmember

City of Del Mar
Hon. Terry Gaasterland, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Dave Druker, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Dan Quirk, Councilmember

City of El Cajon
Hon. Bill Wells, Mayor
(A) Hon. Steve Goble, Councilmember

City of Encinitas
Hon. Catherine Blakespear, Mayor
(A) Hon. Joe Mosca, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Kellie Hinze, Councilmember

City of Escondido
(A) Vacant
(A) Vacant

City of Imperial Beach
Hon. Serge Dedina, Mayor
(A) Hon. Ed Spriggs, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Paloma Aguirre, Councilmember

City of La Mesa
Hon. Bill Baber, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jack Shu, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Laura Lothian, Councilmember

City of Lemon Grove
Hon. Racquel Vasquez, Mayor
(A) Hon. Jennifer Mendoza, Councilmember
(A) Hon. George Gastil, Councilmember

City of National City
Hon. Alejandra Sotelo-Solis, Mayor
(A) Hon. Mona Rios, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Marcus Bush, Vice Mayor

City of Oceanside
Hon. Christopher Rodriguez, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Ryan Keim, Deputy Mayor
(A) Vacant

City of Poway
Hon. Steve Vaus, Mayor
(A) Hon. John Mullin, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Caylin Frank, Councilmember

City of San Diego
Hon. Todd Gloria, Mayor
(A) Hon. Raul Campillo, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Marni von Wilpert, Councilmember

Hon. Sean Elo-Rivera, Council President
(A) Hon. Vivian Moreno, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Joe LaCava, Councilmember

City of San Marcos
Hon. Rebecca Jones, Mayor
(A) Hon. Sharon Jenkins, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Ed Musgrove, Councilmember

City of Santee
Hon. John Minto, Mayor
(A) Hon. Laura Koval, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Rob McNelis, Councilmember

City of Solana Beach
Hon. Lesa Heebner, Mayor
(A) Hon. David A. Zito, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Jewel Edson, Councilmember

City of Vista
Hon. Judy Ritter, Mayor
(A) Hon. John Franklin, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Joe Green, Councilmember

County of San Diego
Hon. Terra Lawson-Remer, Supervisor
(A) Hon. Nora Vargas, Supervisor

Hon. Joel Anderson, Supervisor
(A) Hon. Nora Vargas, Supervisor

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Tony Tavares, Executive Director
(A) Gustavo Dallarda, District 11 Director
(A) Ann Fox, Deputy Director

Metropolitan Transit System
Hon. Paloma Aguirre
(A) Hon. Vivian Moreno

North County Transit District
Hon. Jewel Edson
(A) Hon. Priya Bhat-Patel
(A) Hon. Corinna Contreras

Imperial County
David Aguirre, Director, Imperial County Transportation Commission
(A) Vacant

United States Department of Defense
Dennis Keck, Navy Region Southwest, Executive Director
(A) Steve Chung, Navy Region Southwest

Port of San Diego
Hon. Joe Stuyvesant, President/Chief Executive Officer
(A) Hon. Sandy Naranjo, Commissioner

San Diego County Water Authority
Mel Katz, Director
(A) Consuelo Martinez
(A) Hon. Mona Rios

Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association
Hon. Cody Martinez, Chairman,
Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation
Hon. Erica Pinto, Chairwoman,
Jamul Indian Village of California

Mexico (Consulate General of Mexico)
Hon. Carlos González Gutiérrez
Cónsul General of Mexico
(A) Hon. Gilberto Luna 
Deputy Cónsul General of Mexico
(A) Hon. Natalia Figueroa
Cónsul of Mexico

San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
Gil Cabrera
(A) Johanna Schiavoni