Google Translate

Transportation Committee

Transportation Committee

The Transportation Committee recommends policies to the Board of Directors related to transportation. The Committee oversees the Regional Plan and other regional transportation planning and programming efforts. It provides oversight of project schedules, costs, and scopes for the major highway, transit, regional arterial, and regional bikeway projects funded under the Regional Transportation Improvement Program, including the TransNet Program. The Transportation Committee receives input from the Mobility Working Group and Social Services Transportation Advisory Council. Recommendations of the Transportation Committee are forwarded to the Board of Directors for action.  

The Transportation Committee meetings are generally at 9 a.m. on the first and third Fridays of the month. 

Staff contact: Brian Lane, 619.699.7331,


The Transportation Committee is composed of elected officials that represent the six subregions as well as representatives from Metropolitan Transit System, North County Transit District, the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority, the Port of San Diego, Caltrans District 11, and the Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association.

Chair Nora Vargas, Supervisor, County of San Diego
(Alternate) Terra Lawson-Remer, Supervisor, County of San Diego
(Alternate) Joel Anderson, Supervisor, County of San Diego
Representing the County of San Diego

Bill Sandke, Councilmember, City of Coronado
(Alternate) Mary Salas, Mayor, City of Chula Vista
Representing South County

Vice Chair Raul Campillo, Councilmember, City of San Diego
(Alternate) Marni von Wilpert, Councilmember, City of San Diego
Representing the City of San Diego

Jennifer Mendoza, Councilmember, City of Lemon Grove
(Alternate) John Minto, Mayor, City of Santee
Representing East County

David Zito, Councilmember, City of Solana Beach
(Alternate) Matt Hall, Mayor, City of Carlsbad
Representing North County Coastal

Judy Ritter, Mayor, City of Vista
(Alternate) Steve Vaus, Mayor, City of Poway
Representing North County Inland

Vivian Moreno, Councilmember
(Alternate) Paloma Aguirre, Councilmember
Representing Metropolitan Transit System

Priya Bhat-Patel, Councilmember
(Alternate) Jewel Edson, Councilmember
(Alternate) Corinna Contreras, Councilmember
Representing North County Transit District

Johanna Schiavoni
(Alternate) James Sly
Representing the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

Sandy Naranjo, Commissioner
(Alternate) Rafael Castellanos, Commissioner
Representing the Port of San Diego

Gustavo Dallarda, District Director
(Alternate) Ann Fox
(Alternate) Mario Orso
Representing Caltrans District 11

Erica Pinto, Jamul
(Alternate) James Hill, La Posta
Representing the Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association